Working in Soft Pastels

I felt like trying something a little different today and posting an update since I have been a little MIA from the blog these past few weeks.  I have been working all my “free time” into the book projects I have going currently.  I’m so excited to share the first sneak peeks in the upcoming months. There hasn’t been much time for playtime art with storyboards and sketching being the bulk of my repertoire.  But you all know by now, I make time to play even if it isn’t as often as I would like it to be! So, down goes the gray pencil that has filled my sketchbook too often as of late, and in come the soft pastels of my youth.  No water or brush. Just paper, chalk, and my fingers to smudge! I don’t feel like I have much control with these chunky sticks, but I think that’s the fun part.  I used watercolor paper, so I know that worked against me a little. With watercolor I don’t really think of texture as an obstacle, because you use it to get the desired watery look.  The pastels, soft ones that are almost like chalk, have  no staying power over the texture so there was so much room for play and error.  

Today, I get to have a little fun without over sketching and over thinking.  The kids have been running circles around my table stealing pastel sticks and trying to eat them, smearing my page, and bumping into my chair over, and over, and over.  Never mind, I’m almost done! It survived the tornado and now I have to be attentive Mom again.  Thanks for covering me babe! Yes, that shout out goes to my brave husband who holds down the fort while I attempt to claim my sanity in the middle of the play area.  What the heck was I thinking?  He’s the best!  

In other news, Panda has finished up his first year of Pre-K and is out for the summer.  We have an adventurous journey ahead with the allergist to find out if both boys are allergic to milk, peanut butter, eggs, and dogs! What? Baby Fox is no baby anymore! He is trying to flip off the couches and carries a pillow around to do summersaults. Why? To protect his wile brain of course. He figured that one out himself.  On top of that, we are embarking on a two day drive, both ways, to California with both kids and the dog! If you don’t hear from me in a month…
   
 

22 thoughts on “Working in Soft Pastels

  1. Very nice – I’ve been thinking of pastels, too. Good luck with the book projects and it’s good to be busy. Glad you were able to fit some art time in too now. Missed you!

    1. Thank you! You know, so many of my favorite children’s books are done in pastels, so it’s been on my bucket list for a while now. It’s a very beautiful way to sketch fast. I think somewhere along the way I’d like to try blending pastels and watercolor in a mixed media piece. Please let me know if you give them a try, and what you do with them. Cost is quite reasonable too 🙂 so awesome to hear from you! Will be catching up on your beautiful blog finally today. See ya over there!

  2. Beautiful painting; my she looks chipper! Lots going on at your place and glad you’re still getting your art on! As an aside, I’ve got lots of food intolerances (not allergies), so be aware that could be an avenue too, and won’t likely appear on conventional bloodwork. Have fun in CA and I’m glad to see you posting! Enjoy your projects too! 🙂

    1. Hi! Thanks so much for the allergy feedback. First appointment went well today, and nothing looks too serious so we’re giving some new treatments a go. What a roller coaster though. I’ll be catching up over at your blog today, so I’m excited to see what you have been up to in your creative corner!!! And yes, this girl in the picture is quite busy and chipper being busy, but enjoying the little things! Farmers markets are just about at the top of my happy list in the summer. Well, that and Mojitos 😉 Thanks again for stopping by!

  3. Great post, Alisa with lovely, cheerful art. Looks to me like ‘she’ has a pleasant day ahead after accomplishing her errands. Please let me know if your sweet ones are allergic as I have a children’s book saved from long ago on the topic of food allergies. Happy to send it out to you. SO hoping they are in the clear. Safe journey to California with memories to last a lifetime of illustrations! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Kim! A much needed diversion, but now I have an even better project to sink my teeth into 😉 we had our first appointment with the allergist today and all went well. The food allergies seemed to be the least of our worries, so that was wonderful news. Thank you for the happy travel wishes, and memories for illustrations of a lifetime too. I’m over to your blog for catch up! I’ve missed your feed for too long 🙂 see you soon!

    1. Haha I hear YA… I just naturally go to smudging with a devious grin! No smudging in watercolor! Thanks for the well wishes! Our first big family vacation, so everyone is super excited 🙂 thanks!

    1. Thank you, Kath! Do you work in pastels with your pencils at all? We are all ready for this vacation. I’m just so happy to be traveling again. Inspiration is inevitable 🙂

      1. Im not familiar with pastels but have been combining paint pens over the top of my pencils. never say never, when I have some spare moments one day I might have a play Alisa.

  4. Delighted to hear about your book project!
    Congrats to Panda on his First year of Pre. My granddaughter did it too.
    Love Fox’s approach to the challenges. Way to go!
    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

