Calling all imaginations!

I’m blogging to you from the floor today. Feet up the wall. They say this is a yoga pose that does wonders for you. I feel a bit ridiculous and yet I am so relaxed and comfortable that I do not intend to move for a long while. Twenty minutes they say? I say more!

Obviously the kids are napping. I’m giving myself a time-out after showing the early signs of Hulk transformation at the end of the week. I have three delightful children’s books to read piled up next to me as if I won’t have to pee between writing and reading. My reward for bladder control and taking the time to do important things, like talk to you!

Today, I am sending out a call for help! To all those with active imaginations: Your writing skills are humbly requested. I have this little picture with no story. I have so many paintings with no words, and most of the time I can’t find the words. If you can, please send me your ideas. I am looking for a sentence, a paragraph, even a little quote to place in the blank puddle at the bottom of this little child’s story. In return for this collaboration, I will feature you and your writing on the finished storybook page. It will be featured here at Sweet Afternoons and my Facebook and Instagram pages. I will announce the writer on St. Patrick’s Day 2015, so please leave your ideas here or shoot me an email. I’m excited to see what you all come up with, or if anyone will answer my little plea…

IMG_2636

13 thoughts on “Calling all imaginations!

  1. Love this idea Alisa and the illustration. My thought was….. Remember, after the storm there is always magic you just have to open your eyes. Or this one Emily hated storms yet she knew when they came so, did the magic. Have fun you can change them around. I hope you get lots of great ideas.

    1. Thank you Kath! Your story prompt inspired me to reach out. There are so many great ideas out there from so many imaginations. I love it! Emily is a wonderful name for this little girl. Thank you so much for bringing your magic to my painting!

  2. I love the illustration! I’ve always been a rainbow fan too. I was thinking that maybe she’s wondering if she could paint her own rainbow in the sky if she used the raindrops as her (watercolor) paint?

    It’s so funny you posted this, because I see illustrations and automatically want to put a story to them! πŸ˜€ Good luck with it, and let us know how it goes.

    1. And I hear that so much lately… Seeing a painting and thinking of stories from that illustration. It really takes some of the pressure off, as I feel like I could write, but someone else could do it so much more beautifully. We all have our talents, and I really am enjoying seeing where people shine.

    1. Thank you dear Kim! I’m so excited about the email I just opened from you. You have the most elegant way of writing that makes me read your pieces twice or three times through just to take it in. Beautiful!

      1. I am thrilled, Alisa…truly because art is such a value to words. Yours has such a descriptive, whimsical feeling and flow to catch the eye, making one gaze just a bit longer, lest something delightful is missed. Looking forward to reading my mail, however it may be tomorrow due to taking care of baby twins this evening. Thank you so much! πŸ‘ΆπŸ‘Ά

  3. The rain drop crew was calling, “Throw us a rainbow!”
    And so, I did – it was easy – with a little watercolor, mixed with the drops – a colorful awning appeared to brighten our previously gloomy but now awesome day.

    1. ‘the rain drop crew’ πŸ™‚ The idea of raindrop watercolors makes me smile! I should put a brush in her hand too. Thanks so much for adding your fun perspective and the follow!

Leave a Reply

