Light it up

If you are one of those happy people enjoying the warmth of the sun these days, I am envious of you and your obliviously happy grins. I’m beginning to think winter will never end here in Corn Town. Upon departing the house to drop off the kiddo at preschool, I may have uttered a few choice words of poor taste under my subzero breath. Open door. Load in kids. Close door. Symphony of curse words. Drive to school in three minutes. Jeep does not warm up in time to reach destination. Open door. F word. F word. F word. Open kids doors. Smile and impart wisdom and a cheery disposition, a sort of seize the day and conquer the cold optimism.

There is only so much you can do to beat the winter blues at this point. I’m almost through a bottle of St. Johns Wort, detoxed, yoga’d and smiled till my cheeks hurt so bad. I’ve had to take up a new wrinkle regimen. Oh, the littles are restless. I am running out of ideas for getting them exercise indoors. Today, I hit a new low. I pulled a wet tissue from the ‘Boogie Wipes’ container and started to dance it over to Panda. He asked me what in the world I was doing and I responded, “Boogying!” This is the moment he looked at me and said, “Uh, I don’t think so.” This winter needs to end.

The sun did peek through the iced screens on our frozen windows today. As I wiped away the condensation from the cold glass, I decided I would paint that beautiful light into an illustration today. I would preserve the feeling of the warmth, for the return of it is unknown at this time.

Stay warm my friends, and find some happiness in the little things.

All watercolor this round…

IMG_2582

14 thoughts on “Light it up

  1. Alisa I laughed at your crazy joke but I shouldn’t laugh about the fact winter is coming here soon…..Your image is bright, warm and so vibrant it lifts my spirits too. Im having a drawing day here and needed a break and some inspiration to keep going. I can’t wait to see what comes next for you. This painting is so beautiful.

    1. Kath, I hope you had a successful sketch day! Are your enjoying the summer sunshine on your side of the world?! Drink it up. Magic in a bottle I say! Thank you so very much for the lovely words. I’m happy with this one. I’m always trying to paint a feeling, and sometimes I’m thrilled when I look at it the next day and feel the same. Luckily, the sun peeked in today too! Maybe spring is almost here. Just when the tank was running on fumes πŸ™‚

  2. This painting is happy!! Haha, even if you’re not. Spring is coming. We can’t wait either. I love how you turned your emotions into this and something beautiful and smiley cane out of it. ❀

  3. This painting is so good. It makes me feel happy! And wow, you’ve gotten really really really good lady! This girl’s features made me think of a cute character in a Pixar or Disney animated film. WOW.

    Also, I’m sorry about winter 😦 But I approve of the Boogy Dance, even if C does not. LOVE YOU, so proud of you!!

    1. I know you would boogey with me too, even if c is too cool for my moves now haha! The sun is back today, and it might even be warmer?!
      Thank you so much for the kudos πŸ™‚ I keep trying to do these new things and it always comes back to painting light and details. I try simple and I can’t help but keep adding and adding and my simple child becomes this character. I can see the big chubby face big eyes Pixar character, now that you mention it. Love that! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

