No Peeking!

IMG_2466.JPG

A little gift between friends, Illustration: Ink, Watercolor and Gouache.

It’s well into December and I have been neglecting you, my friends! I find it hard to sit at any point in the day, to take a break, never mind picking up a paint brush. Today, I needed that to change. There is never enough time, but there should certainly be time to welcome the season of giving with at little illustration.

We have had a little snow, a little rain, and a couple of surprisingly warmer days, but the weather is the last thing on my mind. I throw on a scarf and hat like brushing my teeth and venture out into the stormy spin of nonstop seasonal scurrying. Hats and jackets, boots and mittens, shoes on backwards, and a little less spunk in my step as I herd my preschooler to school in the morning. Little Fox (who is one now!) is hanging from my hip and sliding down my side as I try and maneuver both kids into the jeep and make it the five minutes to the school house. I tell you, it’s a task getting the days started in winter with two babies.

Of course, there have been colds, bad colds, ear infections, flu shots, Dr. appointments, and cabin fever. There is “bewitching hour” as my husband and I like to refer to the four o’clock hour every evening before dinner. Panda is notorious for temper tantrums at his age, and Fox likes to see how many octaves higher he can overpower him in a screaming battle. He thinks it’s a song, and Panda thinks it’s a game. It’s a delight for the eyes and the ears both. It sounds great, right?

I’m drooling on my pillow by 8:45 at night, and dragging my feet by 5 the next morning to get in 20 minutes of yoga (maybe) before the kids are up again. It’s crazy. If I were a wittier writer, I’m sure I could relay this much better and really make you feel sorry for me, but honestly it’s not like me to dwell on the negative.

Instead, let me finish this post with a positive accomplishment. OUR TREE IS UP! It is decorated and the lights are twinkling. I’m so excited we have the big tree up this year! With Fox’s arrival last Thanksgiving, we barely got the baby two foot tree up. Also, we have begun Christmas crafting and watching festive holiday movies. I have been teaching Christmas carols to the boys, and hubby has been hosting the nightly Star Wars Lego Advent Calendar. Chippy, The Elf on Our Shelf, has returned. We are doing it. Amidst the crazy of just being our normal dysfunctional selves, we are making Christmas happen this year.

It’s the whole idea behind this illustration today. Though it may be stormy, we will still find those sweet pockets of happy moments, because we took the time to really celebrate the magic of the season. It’s about family and giving your heart in kindness. Time is my most valued gift this season, and I’m trying to share it…with everyone!!!

How are you getting ready for the holidays?

IMG_2467.JPG

17 thoughts on “No Peeking!

  1. Oh, this is beautiful, and truly I understand how difficult it is to accomplish much of anything while tending to little ones. Still, they are the most important of all! But, please come back with these wonderful watercolors whenever you can. Delightful. Merry Christmas to You!

    1. Kim, thank you! I so enjoyed making this illustration. The best things are made with more feelung and less thought. I’d say so anyways. You know, little ones present the most challenges, but those smiles are all worth it. I hope you are enjoying your little blessings this season too. Merry Christmas friend!

  2. Oh I hear you on the witching hour Alisa, I don’t know how you produce such stunning work in the midst of being a fabulous Mummy. Such a beautiful sketch to round off a busy year. I have enjoyed seeing what you create and as your little ones grow, so will your time to do what you love.

    1. Aw thank you so much, Kath for that. Somehow, you always know just what to say. It’s amazing to look back and see all that has been done and just forget the other half I never got around to. I know this is the busy time. I have so many dreams and goals, and I also know that this young time in my children’s lives are special and short. In the end, I treasure the precious time and am excited for the other seasons ahead as well. It’s been quite a year! Thank you for your friendship and have a beautiful holiday season with your family πŸ™‚

  3. Missed you! Your illustration is beautiful and I loved seeing the before (color) painting. Enjoy this time of year! I remember hanging the breakable ornaments on the top half of the tree so those little hands couldn’t grab them! The tree ended up being a little bare on the bottom.

    1. Haha, thank you! I wish I had more time to sit like this and take an illustration from start to finish. Of course, it was a rare two hour double nap the boys took that was gifted so randomly. I took it!

      What a whirlwind! I am enjoying it, and it’s so crazy. Christmas is so magical. It would be a shame to let it pass.

      Yes, the tree is naked on the bottom and decorated with mostly ornaments made by Panda over the past few years. The little one likes to shake the tree until he has an ornament in his little meaty grasp lol. Are you decorated for the holidays? I really loved seeing your art framed and displayed on your mantle. What’s in the works for the holidays?

  4. Oh I hope you are all well by now… Love your picture πŸ™‚ I am not ready for Christmas yet, even that I should be. Nothing new, though… A last- minute person I am :(…

Leave a Reply

