Painting from Nature

My week of explorative painting continues. I took a few process pictures this time to document where I started and eventually where I finished. I actually got the idea for this painting while pulling some unruly weeds from the garden.

After letting a few layers dry, I tried a paint pouring method. You wet your paper again, and then premix your primary colors and pour. It takes a bit of practice to control the pour. There are multiple videos for ‘watercolor pouring’ you can explore on YouTube if you are curious.

20140710-085818-32298804.jpg

20140710-085829-32309285.jpg

20140710-085840-32320913.jpg

20140710-085849-32329733.jpg

‘Weeds’ 24×18 – Watercolor

Hope you are all having a great week!

10 thoughts on “Painting from Nature

  1. So beautiful! I didn’t know that there is a special technique when I did a similar painting 30 years ago: there was no internet :). I loved the look of Melampyrum nemorosum plant ( I don’t know the name in English), so I dried it, covered with black paint, wet the paper, pressed the plant to the paper and poured some purple just around. The result was a black silhouette of the plant on the fading purple on white background. Pity I have lost the painting over these years.

    1. Wow, that sounds like an incredibly beautiful painting! I’m sorry you lost it over the years but obviously it stayed with you. I really appreciate you sharing your process for pouring around your flower. I’m curious to try it πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for the compliment too! Have a great weekend, Inese!

Leave a Reply

