Tiny Owl’s Bad Hair Day

We have reached full on sticky mode for summer in Illinois or ‘hot buggy weather’ as Panda likes to refer to it. If you live in a humid area of the world, you may know what we are dealing with here.

I began painting this little owl yesterday after my morning walk with the boys. When we returned, the volume of my hair had doubled in size and I knew exactly what was happening. No amount of anti-frizz styling syrum can hold up to the reality of a real Midwest summer. It’s time for baseball hats and elastic hair ties. I attempted a small braid in hopes of taming the beast, but as my bobby pin popped back out and I heard the sound of bouncy springs, I gave in and gave up.

You may remember Tiny Owl from another of my paintings, ‘Tiny Embrace’. He was so small in that painting that I wanted to develop him into his own character. I liked his mythical colors and messy feathers at the time, so I wanted to play on that again when I recreated him. I fear he may have been prey to the influence of the hot Midwest summer humidity as well.

20140630-074644-28004220.jpg

20 thoughts on “Tiny Owl’s Bad Hair Day

    1. Hi Sreetama! Haha thank you! I can imagine the weather in Singapore is a little more humid year round! I remember visiting Hawaii a few years back and it was lovely island weather, but the curls… Oh the frizz!

  1. Alisa You had me on OWL, i don’t know what it is about owls? But he is beautiful and a delicate style that only you have the power to bring into this world. Well done I hate drawing in the heat.

  2. He makes me smile. πŸ™‚ “Hot buggy weather” gives me a similar expression to his. πŸ™‚

    May I reblog him soon? This week, we’ve had this glorious respite from the heat, but I see the need for laughing at the heat coming back shortly. πŸ™‚

      1. I am learning to use the archive section of the “notices” that WP gives. I shall reblog this humid hair day in the next week. πŸ™‚ Thanks.

  3. Reblogged this on Beef and Sweet Tea and commented:
    I know I just blogged for the weekly FarrrTHUR series, but y’all this owl is speakin’ to the humidity situation down South here. πŸ™‚

    They don’t make hair product for this – I don’t care what you’re peddling. It don’t work. πŸ˜‰ LOL

    Wilted and blessing the a/c,
    Emily Grace

Leave a Reply

