Oh, little hedgehog…

20140613-202747-73667895.jpg

The summer brings out the best in people, and we look forward to it around here. Our town has a population of about 5,000 people, though I would have guessed about 500 when we first moved here three years ago. Normally, the locals stay tucked away on their farms and homes about town, but for a brief few weeks everyone is out. The warm sun drags people from their sleepy winter dens and we get to meet new people, re-visit ones we haven’t chatted with in a while, and of course take part in the local gatherings.

I just love our library! I take my sons every Thursday morning to the little story time and craft program, and it’s been a constant for us the past few years. The staff is always so sweet and welcoming and we always feel like we leave knowing it will somehow always be that lovely when we return the next week.

This week was exceptionally fun with the summer reading program starting that we went twice in one day. For a small town, they really step up and organize fun summer activities for the kiddos. This week, we had our first encounter with a hedgehog! I may have enjoyed it even more than my boys given my obsession with little woodland creatures lately. The little lady’s name was Ranger, and I was lucky enough to get a photo of her up close.

20140613-203017-73817476.jpg

I’ve seen a few children’s books with a leading hedgehog character but not many. I thought I would take a swing at developing a quick illustration this afternoon while the boys were napping. I imagined her nestled up in a snugly grassy patch on a bed of leaves. I guess if I were a hedgehog, that is exactly where I would want to be.

Little panda adored my sketch and asked me to put it in his room, and then he asked me if I could draw him a big horse too… Oh ok!

My illustration was done using my $2 watercolor pencils on very nice cold press watercolor paper. As much as I adore exploring with them, Lion bought me my first set of Derwent, Inktense watercolor pencils today. It feels like Christmas morning, and I cannot wait to use them. A huge thanks to my very dear blogging friends who have been so helpful in suggesting this brand to me!

Have a wonderful weekend!

16 thoughts on “Oh, little hedgehog…

  1. Such a delightful little hedgehog. So cute, as cute as he can be. Love him, Alisa. You are such a talent! No “chicken bones” for you, LOL! Happy weekend to you!

  2. Alisa I can’t help thinking we meet the characters we were meant to meet. Your illustration is adorable and the hedgehog is beyond CUTE. Have fun with your derwents once you start using any of their brands you will never go back and I agree my husband bought me a very expensive set of coloursoft Derwent pencils….. 72 vibrant colours to choose from and I am in heaven. Look forward to seeing what you do with yours and as always your blog leaves me with a big smile on my face thank you.

    1. Thank you so much Kath! I think it’s one thing to dream a character up from open space, but even more fun when they physically make an impression on you. You must have so much fun on your farm giving all the animals you meet stories πŸ™‚ And thank you for suggesting the pencil brand. I’m opening them this afternoon if the kiddos allow for some sketch time. The color soft look to have some beautiful shades, and aren’t we lucky to have men in our lives who support our creativity ❀️

  3. I enjoy our library, too. After college several years ago, I rediscovered reading and the library was just the ticket. Then I discovered they have so much more than books! The library is a favorite place, for sure.

    Lovely hedgehog. Do you do sketches like this on commission? I may need a sketch of my Buddy dog. I refuse to think he is getting older, so I should memorialize him now! πŸ™‚ Your colors and dimensions are just delightful.

  4. Yes! After college when you don’t ‘have’ to read, it’s fun to recapture the joy of reading. It’s so great that you enjoy your library as well. They are little gems.
    Thank you for your sweet comments as well on my hedgehog, Emily! Your Buddy Bear is darling with his salt and pepper muzzle. I would love to commission an illustration of him for you. If you will send me an email, we can chat a little more about what you are looking for. Thank you for inquiring! Alisamichelle@gmail.com is my personal email address. Have a great day!

  5. Hello! I’m Ashley from the Colona Public Library. You could just imagine my surprise when I saw you had a blog entry on my hedgehog Ranger! It really put a smile on my face to see your beautiful illustration! Janna had mentioned about how you would like to see her once more? If so, let me know because she is getting older and has developed a cancer. You can get in contact with me through the library, facebook, or email! Thank you for this great page!

Leave a Reply

